Belote
Administrator

Midden

Books, films, music, art

#2 2019-01-19 15:07:44

Belote
Administrator

Re: Midden

I once paid 500 pounds to a friend for one of his paintings because he was a 'painter' and I wished to encourage him. I hung it on my wall, even though I had never liked it and it was poorly done. When he gave up being a painter, I burnt the painting. It had no meaning. I remember reading an interview with a novelist who, when asked what was the secret of his success, he replied, it was just a matter of keeping going. He started writing at the age lots of others started writing, but he kept going when they got proper jobs... his secret was nothing but his will allied to the opportunity allowed by longevity or persistance. Others, more talented than him, disappeared because they did not continue. If I had any advice to give younger people it would be the same as his - keep going. Write, paint, make music. When you reach your 30's, these activities inevitably become incongruous and it seems right to adopt a more 'realistic' mode of life, but if you keep going, once you reach the deadly still waters of your fifties, such activities take on a new meaning (not of life but of death). It is a delusion to think there are better beliefs, or values; it is essential (authentic even) to stick to the same position, hollow it out, sculpt it, transform it but stay with it, stay within the cultural frame that you are most familiar with - what you inherit, turns of phrase and gesture, become the tools of your expression. We can either give up or we can exist in relation to the possibility of giving up. We can either get out or exist in relation to the impossibility getting out.

#3 2019-01-19 15:11:45

Belote
Administrator